Some people believe that children should be given a smartphone as soon as they begin their elementary school studies. Others believe this may harm a child’s development and parents should wait until their children are older and mature enough to handle the responsibilities of having a smartphone. Which view do you agree with? What might some consequences be of giving a young child a smartphone?

The argument about what age is more convenient for children to have mobile phones is an ongoing debate among parents. Many people think that elementary school students should have phones while others suggest waiting until they mature enough to have which I agree with more. Since smartphones may distract students at an early age and encourage them to play games via phones when they have to study. The possible consequences might be lower grades than peers who do not have phones and addiction to games. First and foremost, it is obvious why people think to buy smartphones for their children since we live in a digital era. However, giving mobile phones to elementary school students means offering them a distracting toy because they are too young to be responsible. Therefore, they may distract their attention by using phones during classes. Furthermore, the developed smartphones are multifactional so students might play video games as well. For example, considering they do not responsible enough to use it wisely, their desire for games might transform into screen addiction in the future. On the other hand, the possible results of giving children mobiles without waiting for their maturity might cause some problems for students. If they use their phones during classes and study instead of giving attention to subjects, their grades will be lower than their classmates who do not have phones. In addition, giving young ones smartphones may encourage them to play video games more and they may end up an addiction to games in the future for example. To summarize, whereas many people advocate giving smartphones to kids at an early age, others and I disagree. Providing multifactional technology to students may distract them and drop their grades and also encourage them to get addicted to games.