Today, people in many countries have to spend more and more time away from their families. Why is this happening? What effects does this have on the people themselves and on their families?

A lot of people nowadays have to live far away from their families, due to the increasing opportunities and mobilization in urban areas. It is a far better chance to land a high-income job and build an outstanding career from the most developed cities of the country rather than the countryside. As a result, many have made a choice to travel and work from infrastructural cities and try to support their families from there. This has brought big social consequences that are getting worse by days. It has brought a rise of workaholics, whose schedule is working overtime and trying to make as much money and progress possible. Workhorse culture is becoming drastically more popular in Asian countries, especially Japan where employees who show dedication and commitment to their company have a chance of promotion. Needless to say, the competition is over the top that’s why having free time for your family is a privilege not everyone can have. To look even further into the effects of this phenomenon, it can see that the economic miracle of the 20 th century had a consumptive effect on large families. Japanese, parents, especially the father, who has to work long shifts at the office, may go on for days or even weeks without seeing the face of their children. That being the case this situation results in people not valuing families as much as they used to. It also increases the decrease in population since the birth rate decreases. Loneliness and relationships also become a problem for workaholics that’s why suicides and lonely deaths rise quickly. All of this can and more can become a reality to any nation around the world, if they don’t decide the solutions for modernization. In summary, the collapse of family bond has been underway for quite some time now, and it has already taken its toll on many societies, of which Japan is a prime example. A solution is needed now to restore the once strong and inseparable bond between the bloodline, so that it won’t be too late to have a normal family.