In some countries, there has been an increase in adverstisements that try to persuade children to buy snacks, toys and other items. Parents often argue that these announcements are unfair. Discuss both perspectives and give your opinion?

While It is no longer news that many nations of the world have been experiencing a rise in advertisements that encourage children to indulge in snacking, toys and many other items, several parents found these unfavourable. Meanwhile, a few others may have an opposing view. This passage will juxtapose both sides with my supporting opinions. To begin with the views of the majority of parents who found these advertisements unwelcoming, there could be a few reasons for this. An important one is that it gets children distracted from their studies. In other words, they tend to spend more than playing with toys rather than studying. For example, a recent UK survey carried out by primary school teachers in 2019, revealed that school children that have low grades are not only academically poor but also result from distractions at home spending more time with toys instead of practising school work. Additionally, these advertisements promote the risk of obesity in children. Meaning that more children consume high-calorie snacks hence tilting them towards obesity, in return, posing some of them health challenges at a tender age. For instance, a recent Medscape journal shows that several school-age children with obesity challenges were found to be an outcome of poor diet habits hence leading to even more deeming effects on the other aspect of their lives. On the contrary, some other parents have a positive view of it. A cogent one is that such advertisements help several companies to make profits from their products. That is, it promotes their sales thereby making them amass a good financial reward. In 2019, the Coca-Cola company were able to make its highest yearly profit ever due to the level of social marking done. Furthermore, another set of parents found this as a good way to distract children from crying and engage them at home. They found out that, not only that children love toying, but it has also been a way of engaging and preventing them from disturbing their parents at home. On the Twitter app, many mothers aired their opinions on how they have successfully stopped their children from crying through the use of toys. In conclusion, in my opinion, I think both views are valid depending on how each parent sees them. While its detrimental effects cannot be discarded, their values cannot be as well underplayed. However, parental decisions on which will be favourable to their children will go a long way in the positive use of these advertisements.