Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The importance of gaining knowledge from compulsory or optional courses at the university remains controversial. Many students have asserted that qualification requires time investment and dedication to main subjects, whilst others argue that they strive to achieve this by integrating complementary subjects with main courses. In this essay, I will explore the rationale behind these viewpoints before presenting my opinion. On the one hand, diversifying one’s academic pursuits at university can help students gain soft skills. To illustrate, many universities in the UK offer courses called “Learning Development,” which teach transferable skills, such as critical thinking, constructing strong arguments, and avoiding plagiarism. In more detail, these aforementioned skills complement technical knowledge in primary fields of study and interrelated fields at the university since different areas often overlap. Therefore, when learning subjects beyond one’s core discipline, it can lead students to greater versatility since they have already prepared broader skills that can better adapt to different academic areas. From the rationale discussed above, it is discernible that gaining these practical skills from other subjects plays even more important than focusing solely on one’s major. On the other hand, it is also true that concentrating exclusively on one’s significance plays an indispensable role for those who want to gain in-depth knowledge in a specific field. For example, in TESOL programs, students who aim to become pure researchers in education can pursue an MA by Research at many UK universities. More specifically, this type of degree allows undergraduates to focus on a single topic that interests them, conduct thorough investigations, and produce highly specialized work. Accordingly, it is discernible that when dedicating one’s studies to one subject can lead to greater expertise and original contributions in a chosen area. Therefore, for those seeking a career in research or academia, sticking to one major can be more beneficial than spreading their efforts across different subjects. In conclusion, both viewpoints about pursuing knowledge are precise in their own rights. More specifically, broadening students ’ horizons makes them more adaptable to diverse subjects at university, whilst concentrating exclusively on a particular major brings more expertise in specialized knowledge. From my perspective, learning additional subjects beyond their main study field is more practical since it can offer substantial long-term advantages, whereas developing in-depth expertise in one’s major may restrict adaptability in today’s rapidly changing job market. Hence, I believe that knowing a little about many fields is more beneficial and can still lead to success, even if a student does not have an entire specialization in any subject.