Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your experience.

It is a popular saying that all work and no play make jack a dull boy. Some people claim that children's extra-curricular activities need to have an educational purpose otherwise they are merely a waste of time. I believe this is far from the truth and that these activities contribute to a better development of kids. In this, essay I will present several reasons for why this is my opinion. First of all, the benefits of different types of games have been demonstrated time and time again in society. The impact of playing plays a important role in preparing children for their future in regard to non-academic skills. Strategic games such as chess help develop problem-solving abilities that will prove helpful in other areas of kids' lives in their adult life. For example, careers in business like the stock market demand people with this type of critical thinking and capacity to think on their feet. Secondly, physical activities should be highly encouraged as they provide clear health benefits mitigating the odds of sedentary life-related illness. For instance, it has been shown that in countries where the school offers more hours of physical education per week, there is a smaller percentage of obesity and diabetes. Furthermore, team activities promote the improvement of communication abilities, essential in both personal and professional future aspects of life. In conclusion, children's extra-curricular activities should be looked at as an asset and not a waste of time because they contribute just as much to their development.