Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a waste of time. Do you agree or disagree? Give reason for your answer and include any relevant example from your experience.

A lot of people opined that if children's playtime is not education-oriented then it is a share waste of time. I strongly disagree with this view for a few cogent reasons. This essay will not only elaborate on these reasons but will also back them up with some important examples. Firstly, non-educational children's leisure is in fact one of the most productive ways to help relieve them from school work. That is, although there may be other ways to cool children off educational work, playtime is key. For instance, many schools have incorporated break time in their curricula because of how critical it is for children to take a rest from academics. This moment is not only available for lunch or a meal but most importantly to do other activities apart from studying. A recent high school study shows that children's participation in non-academic leisure activities boosts their IQ hence reflecting in-class performances. Secondly, non-academic play time helps foster a social bond among school children. Meaning that students find that opportunity to mingle with themselves, to play and gist, as a result, creating bonding and friendship. For example, in 2022, in the US, high school girls' leading source of learning and sharing of sexual and reproductive health information was peer group discussions as reported in a health journal. In summary, the opinion that children's leisure time must be educational is unwelcoming and harsh based on a few examples stated above. In spite of any reason they might have for this, I am strongly against this view and in fact, I believe that playtime should further be encouraged not only in primary school but at every level of education.