These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

With the rapid development of science and technology, the possession of digital devices like computer and mobile phone provides the opportunity for many people to work at home easier. Lots of companies have decided to allow their employees to complete their jobs at in recent years, particularly during the COVID-19 pandemics. However, there are still debates on whether working at home really gives us more spare time or restricts our lives. In this essay, I will argue that working at home is not as good as we may imagine. In the beginning, let us think of the benefits of working at home. One of the most popular reasons of supporting home -working is that working at home can save much time wasted on commuting to work every day. In some megacities, such as Beijing, Shanghai, and New York, traffic jam at rush hour is not something rare. Therefore, commuting to work, no matter by driving or public transports, usually consumes nearly an hour and is a torture both physically and mentally, especially for those live far away from their workplaces. Thus, working at home can help with that and enable workers to sleep better and start to work without morning hustling. Secondly, working at home may make our time more flexible because we can manage work schedules ourselves. Therefore, working at home may give us more available time and do to what we like. On the contrary, working at home is not as attractive as it sounds. Home is where we relax and spend time with out families and friends, which make us less focus on our jobs because of lacking atmosphere. To be detailed, we are easily to be disrupted by countless stuff like cooking, chatting or noises made by neighbors, and work with very low efficiency then. What I mean by this is that we need to spend more time on the same workload compared to work at office. Hence, working at home leads workers to have lower efficiency and consume more time on completing their tasks. Besides, another problem is that, due to the lower efficiency and more time spent on working at home, it is more likely for us to get tired and feel anxious. In other words, we have less time to relax but our achievement is limited, which may cause us to be susceptible to our abilities and be angry with working. This can sometimes lead to psychiatric problems on employees. Taken together, technology development does give us ability to work at home. However, we need to think twice cautiously whether working at home is flexible, time- saving, or causes lower efficiency and time -consuming. In my personal perspective, I think that though working at home sounds a good alternative way to work, working at office is still the better choice.