Nowadays parents are forcing their ward to do part time jobs in their free time. Write the advantages and disadvantages of this phenomenon.

Parental encouragement of young children towards performing part- time jobs in their leisure time is a normal event today. Even though this phenomenon has a lot of merits there are potential downsides to this trend as well. The pros and cons of this behaviour will be discussed in detail in the forthcoming paragraphs. Firstly, working part- time instigates a sense of responsibility in individuals. They understand the difficulties that their parents go through in order to earn money and look after the family. This helps them to comprehend the significance of sharing and caring. For instance, My friend Sajith was the only boy in the family and he had two younger sisters. After his father died he used to take care of them. He used to study as well as sell lottery tickets as a side job. Only when he himself began to take care of his family he could understand the hardships that his father went through. Secondly, youngsters become more self-reliant upon working and earning money. By the time they begin their family phase, they are able to manage anything and overcome many obstacles in their life. For example, Once hitting the age of 18, Americans start working in order to increase their skill set along with taking care of their education. This makes them more independent and responsible for their finances. In contrast, Part- time jobs deprive kids and youngsters of their leisure time and they are not able to play with other children in their age group. This negatively impacts the mental and physical development of kids and as a result they feel more isolated. Moreover, youngsters involved in working during their free time lack interaction with their friends and family and do not get enough time to relax and enjoy their life and they fall prey to many mental health problems like depression and anxiety. For example, there are many children who sell newspapers due to financial problems and also study. These kids experience extreme stress and fatigue and are not able to enjoy their childhood. To summarize, part- time jobs definitely play a positive role in making individuals independent and responsible. However, they also have a bad impact on the mental and physical health of young people and make them miss some of the most important chapters of their life.