Some college freshmen find that the courses they choose are not suitable for them. What are the causes of this?What can be done to solve the problem?

Choosing courses is one of the most important decisions a college freshman can make as it will have a lasting impact on his or her personal and professional life. However, there are quite a few college freshmen who are facing dilemmas in this decision-making process. This essay will analyze why and offer some possible solutions to the problem. Many students become undecided or make the wrong choice when selecting a college course, which is simply because their decisions are based on emotion or a very limited set of criteria. They may follow their friends or please their parents to choose certain courses without understanding their true needs; they may focus on the less important aspects such as registering for a course that seems easy. In order to enrol in suitable courses, requires the individual to develop a certain degree of self-awareness, which entails uncovering one’s interests, personality traits, and work-related values and skills. The more overlap there is among these aspects, the more satisfaction there is in taking a course. Another reason leading to dissatisfaction with studying unsuitable courses is taking employment opportunities as the only consideration. Due to the current financial crisis caused by the Covid-19 pandemic, it is logical to take employment opportunities as one of the major factors involved in the decision of what to study. Nevertheless, one should bear in mind that the demands of the labour market will change very quickly with time passing by. Only with the ability to adapt to changes and growths can someone stand out in the future labour market. For this reason, the key to choosing courses should hinge on the possibility of encouraging students to remain curious, value diversity in opinions, think critically, and communicate effectively. Therefore, freshmen should contrive to seek out real-world experience such as applying for internships so as to make sensible decisions. In conclusion, a freshman who is well-informed about himself or herself and the real world is most likely to find success and satisfaction in his or her college experience.