Some countries spend a lot of money preparing competitors to take part in major competitions such as Olympic Games or football World Cup. Some people say that it would be better to spend this money encouraging children to take up sports from a young age. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is a controversial issue whether government funding should spend on nurturing professional athletes or encouraging children to play sports from a young age. As far as I am concerned, I tend to believe funding should be contributed in advocating for more children to join sports from a young age. On the one hand, many people hold a view that government should put more funding into the preparation of professional players. The main reason for this view is that athletes who represent the nation to participate in worldwide competitions are those professional players who have already practiced certain types of sports for many years. It is reasonable for government constantly invest in them so as to increase their chance to be champions in major competitions. Another reason for this view is that top players are representations of a nation. If an athlete wins a prize in a big competition, not only this player can benefit from it but also the nation can gain fame and fortune. On the other hand. I tend to support the view that spending more money on encouraging children to participate in sports, which can benefit the whole of society. Firstly, it is commonly believed that children are the future of a nation. If more money spends on encouraging children to play sports, potential sports superstars will be more likely to be dug out, which cultivates the competitiveness of a nation. Secondly, it is also beneficial for children themselves to participate in different sports, even though they would probably be not suitable to become a professional player. As they can be provided a way to relax their body and mind as well as interact with their peers, which is vital in their life. Finally, it is a disputable fact that government will be more likely to experience financial burden if they focus more on funding professional athletes. As is widely accepted, it is governments and nations’ responsibility to give monthly or yearly pay for professional athletes. However, their salary is usually much higher than other positions and the government budget is limited, especially those less-developed countries. To sum up, it is nevertheless to say that funding professional players is a must, However, more financial investment in encouraging kids to play sports will have a prolonged effect for the whole nation.