More and more families are choosing fast food over home cooked meal. What are the reasons and how they can be addressed?

Increasingly nuclear families are selecting junk food over homemade cooking. This is mainly because of they are very easy to cook. However, in order to address this problem government has to take strict action by raising the tax. The aim of this essay is to investigate the factors that led to these problems and propose some possible methods to deal with it. One of the most contingent reasons for the choosing fast food is they are very simple to cook. Due to an era of technology, such foods are easily available in the market and can be cooked by following simple steps. As a result, many people who do not get time to cook food at home as they are working all the time in order to have a better standard of living or to fulfill their basic needs, they prefer such foods over home meals. For instance, in our country 85% of people who are working from morning to evening go on the market and purchase such junk foods because they are tired and do not have enough time to cook at home. Thus, such foods are more purchased instead of eating at the house. Possible solution to this problem is the government should increase the taxes on such companies who manufacture such junk foods. To elaborate, if the higher authorities increase tax heavily on these companies, a common person or the working class will not able to purchase such food because these companies would cover such taxes indirectly by charging for them. For this reason, they will switch to home -cooked food. For example, the government of Japan had increased the rate of tax from 10% to 25% on the fast- food manufacturers’ in order to make its citizen to eat home cooked meals rather than eating junk food outside, resulted in they are active, fit and happy. To conclude, having a better life or fulfilling basic needs a person works all the time and choose to eat processed food instead of home food. Only when the government would raise the taxes on such manufacturers’ who manufacture such foods, will this problem be solved.