In some countries, university students study near their home and live with their family, while in others students have to study in another city. Do the advantages of living away from home outweigh the disadvantages?

University years are the time young adults mostly attend to be trained for qualified future jobs. Some young people could enroll in universities right in their homeland, while others are forced to move to another city. While it is deemed that studying near parents' homes brings much convenience to students, I believe that living apart from home offers many more benefits to youngsters. On the one hand, being far away from home has proved to have positive effects on students. Firstly, it could be a chance for them to be self-reliant and independent. Undergrads are put in the circumstances of studying at school and taking care of themselves at the same time, which requires them to balance their study lives and normal lives. They might have to learn to cook, clean the living space, and pay expense bills. It is no surprise that many university students widely adopt time and financial management skills. Moreover, co-space with non-relative people has claimed to adjust the attitudes of youngsters, which makes them more flexible and mature to deal with various situations. There could be arguments, and awkward cases that students have to confront and arrange, such as issues with cleaning the toilets or cooking food to serve others. So it is reasonable to assert that living experiences are mostly learned during university time. On the other hand, studying far from home may result in difficult issues that undergrads might not be able to overcome. First of all, family bonding could be weakened when children are not seeing relatives frequently, especially for those people who have abundant love and support from their kin. They could miss out on occasional family gatherings or important events that they might regret. In addition, it is always challenging to relocate and adapt to new environments where it is expensive and unusual for shy youngsters. They might be afraid of taking the initiative to have new relationships and buy stuff that is deemed unaffordable for them. These challenges might affect the mental health of students, and they should be well prepared if they decide to study away from home. In short, university time is the best time that people experience, though learning near or far from home might have an impact on young people. Whatever stage in life that a person would face, they shall be adequately equipped and the decision to study in an out-of-local university is no exception. My opinion would be that the gains certainly outweigh the drawbacks for those who readily accept the challenges.