Many people believe that having a fixed punishment for all crimes is more efficient. What are the advantages and disadvantages of having fixed punishment?

There is an ongoing controversy that the efficient way of dealing with every crime is by having a rigid disciplinary approach. This essay will elucidate on the demerits of the statement which is the unfairness it would put in the faces of the wrongdoers and injustice, however the positives impact could be that it will totally reduce the crime rates and improve security of lives and properties. To begin with, the backbone of punishment is to correct man of his wrong acts, however some of the acts could stand as a self-defense against an attack and also it could be the only way to sustain him. For example, a man who just lost his job and after several months of job-hunting yet to no avail, he will at this point try to rob within his vicinity rather than to die of hunger. Peradventure, his case is brought to a book of death sentence, he feels bad for such punishment based on the minor crime of stealing from his neighbor in order to survive. While, the possible way of reducing criminal activities in any given society is by putting a strict disciplinary action. More so, this measurement will provide a better secured and conducive environment to citizens. For example, China uses more the death sentence for any crime and this rule has been laid over years. In fact, this is the first thing you get to hear as a visitor in China and I believe it has structured the behaviors of the Chinese. Additionally, it is well known that China is one of the most secured and conducive country within the globe because they are governed with strict and rigid rule for any misconduct. In conclusion, most people think that criminals should be punished equally irrespective of the evil acts done as it improves the security and exacerbate the criminal activities in an environment whereas others feel it is unjust.