Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Imprisonment is the most common way to punish people when they do anything illegal. Depends on the seriousness, lawbreakers can get longer sentences which may reduce crime rates. On the other hand, others think that there are better ways to deterrent criminals than just to jail them longer. In my opinion, giving them a longer setence is more practical and persuasive than using other types of treatment. Many people believe that giving inmates a chance to change their life is better because they can have time and opportunity to think about the consequences of what they have done. Take education as an example, it provides a suitable environment for prisoners to learn and practice. They can be taught about laws, policies, psychology, etc. By teaching those, they can improve their mindset and raise their awareness about what they have done so they have a chance to correct their mistakes. Moreover, government should impose and improve social welfares to help rehabilitate inmates to the society, hence, reduce crime rates as they won’t reoffend again just for money. However, those solutions can only apply to petty criminals and they make no impacts on the serious ones. Although education has many benefits toward criminals, it also has some considerable flaws. Firstly, professionals can get much more information from learning improving their performance in illegal activities. Secondly, by learning laws and policies, they can find big holes of it to take advantage making their crimes hard to convict. Longer sequences setences, might be a good way to both punish them and send a strong message to would-be criminals. It will give them more time to think about what they have done. Moreover, if they still have conscience, they will be tormented until they change they habits. Also, giving inmates too much freedom doesn’t seem to be fair to the victim’s family since they have made such a significant impact to both physical and mental bodies in which couldn’t be forgiven. They will suffer the same thing their victim felt at that time. Therefore, it is necessarily evil to those bad faces and it also sends out a strong message to prevent criminality. Overall, longer imprisonment time can be more effective than other methods as it keeps a strong deterrent to prevent people to do illegal things.