For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

From time immemorial, a vital aspect of learning has been centred on English literacy and arithmetic while a hand full of folks are of the opinion that soft skills be introduced as a fourth subject in schools since our world has been digitalized. I agree completely with this opinion because computer-related skills could increase the chances of students gaining employment after school. To begin with, the inclusion of computing knowledge in the learning system at the grass root would irrefutably intensify the students’ ability to explore the internet and widen their horizons. More so, the digitalization of learning could encourage more pupils to take advantage of the different online learning resources to enhance their learning process. For example, it was easy for China to fully migrate their traditional system of face-to-face learning to an online system to completely utilize the benefit of computer networking for teleconferencing because every student is computer literate. Thus, China was able to unprecedentedly maintain a smooth academic calendar in the year 2022 when Coronavirus hit the world. Furthermore, most developed nations have seen tremendous improvement in their economy as a result of introducing digital knowledge in elementary school where students are nurtured in line with a digital-driven educational policy with the sole aim of actualizing a vibrant economy that is firmly rooted in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Also, job creation becomes feasible as most business models rely on computer applications. For example, China is the only country around the globe with the largest market for digital and web applications which can be attributed to the early introduction of digital literacy in classrooms. Despite the fact that English and numerical computing are crucial; the advantage of soft skills cannot be over-emphasized. To conclude, I completely agree that computing acquisition should be inculcated into the curriculum of basic learning as a fourth module.