some people believe that unpaid community service should be compulsory part of high school programmes. do you agree or diagree?

For several years now, the topic surrounding the obligatoriness of unpaid community service as a part of the high school curricula has been highly discussed. In my, opinion the inclusion of these types of activities in children's education can have a positive impact on their development. This essay will present several reasons that justify my point of view. Firstly, it is without a doubt a fact, that kids just cannot learn everything they need to succeed in their future, by just sitting in a classroom. It is essential for the younger generations to be exposed to real-life challenges, much like the ones that public service offers. This type of work provides students with a broader view of what life is like for people with lower possibilities, leading them to become not only more understanding of others that have less than them but also more responsible and aware of what they themselves have. For instance, after being questioned a large number of students from a school in Portugal claimed that after they took part in a soup kitchen they started to be more careful with the food they wasted because they knew some people struggled to feed themselves every day. Secondly, it is important not to discard the fact that community service still has a lot of negative stigmas because is many times connected to the idea that it serves as a punishment for criminals, which is a reality in some countries. By implementing this as a part of school education we can mitigate this assumption and make public service more appealing and consequently attract a larger number of volunteers. For example, my best friend parent's did not let her take part in painting our local supermarket because they saw on the news that juvenile delinquents from another city were forced to do this as part of their prison work so they thought this was not a fit activity. In conclusion, I believe that making unpaid community service a part of teens' education has a positive impact not only on their personal development but also on the acquisition of features that will help them in their professional life later on. Moreover making these activities part of the school curricula will tone down the negative imputation it has thus far on some people's minds.