Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Few people believe that a lot of time is spent on teaching facts in all levels of schools; from primary to university, instead of teaching practical skills. I completely agree with that because, students also need to learn skills, which are useful in the real world apart from textbook knowledge as it helps in getting them ready for their future job. Our education system is designed to give bookish knowledge to our children, rather than making them ready for real life and due to that, students suffer after they graduate. Schools teach them 500 pages from the textbook but students will forget most of that, after their examinations. For example, A student learns several topics in mathematics such as differentiation, integration, calculus and algebra. However, they won’t even remember that after a few months as they were only focused on clearing exams and not thinking about applying those concepts in the real world. Current education system is forcing students to mug up the concepts rather than understanding it and because of that people suffer in solving problems at their job. Companies have often complained that universities are not providing practical skills to the students, required for the work. For instance, manufacturing sector has to train their new employees for their job, which is a waste of time and resources, as they should have learned about that in college. To conclude, we need to improve our education system to reflect the needs of the real world and focus on teaching more practical skills, which would save us resources as people will be ready to solve actual problems, right after graduating from school.