In many countries, people like to eat a wider variety of food from other region more than local food. As a result, much of the food has to come from other regions. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

People in the past used to have only homemade products to eat due to the limitation of means of transport whereas, a wide range of non-native food is available to people in this contemporary life. As two sides of a coin, this development has both benefits and shortcomings; nevertheless, I believe that the latter outweighs the former. On the one hand, there is no disputing the fact that a smooth flow of foodstuff among areas could foster the whole economy by optimizing resources. For instance, a region which is suitable for producing rice thanks to fertilized soil and an advanced irrigation system can obtain more income by selling its main product to another state where natural resources are at a disadvantaged position. In addition, meals coming from other regions without boundary restrictions guarantee the whole population gets sufficient nutrition because it reduces the scarcity of food. On the other hand, this development is projected to bring more adverse impacts. Firstly, the delivery of perishable fruits from one place to different another requires quick transportation, even if air travel is applied. It means that more fuel is needed and more exhaust fumes are emitted. This becomes more worrying while there is no disputing the fact that the pollution problem has become unprecedentedly serious and fuels such as petrol and oil have been depleted. Secondly, imported foodstuffs may make the development of the domestic economy be overlooked. In other words, consumers prefer choosing non-native foodstuffs can make local farmers discourage investing in technology to yield productivity, for example. In conclusion, I would contend that people nowadays have more choices of what they intake, not only domestic but also imported fresh food. However, this trend can result in more drawbacks than benefits as the above analysis.