The best way to solve the world’s environmental problems is to increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The world we are living in is, unfortunately, facing loads of serious environmental problems. There is an idea that says if we want to solve these problems, the best way is to increase the cost of petrol. Although I agree that we must deal with environmental issues, I do not think the mentioned solution is a smart choice. Firstly, the rise in fuel price is likely to be counter-intuitive because it would put a lot of burden on the economy. Everyone would be affected, from workers whose companies are far away from their homes, or parents who have to travel long distances to take their children to school, to a stressed person who just wants to go somewhere outside to relax. Businesses would have to pay much more for delivery, and some would even close down because of losses. If this happened for a long time, it would lead to an economic crisis. Instead, I believe that a much better solution would be to boost researches into and manufacture of vehicles that use clean energy. Gasoline cost might go up, but that would not reduce people’s need for travelling. Therefore, we need to give them other options instead of forcing them to give up their only choice. Electric motorbikes and cars are the kinds of vehicles we can take into consideration. In fact, these have become very popular with people in my country, Vietnam, during recent years. This could be more successful when we can mass produce these means of transport and make them more affordable. In conclusion, I do not agree with the idea that raising fuel cost is the best solution to environmental problems because this will make matters worse by damaging the economy. Rather than that, we should focus on researching and producing vehicles using clean energy.