It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

These days, an increasing number of students have decided to take one year gap after their high school graduation. From my perspective, while such discontinuity seems disadvantageous, I believe it can be beneficial for pupils in the long run. To commence with, students who take a one-year break before attending college may find it hard when coming back to their studies. While these students are not in school, they may lose touch with academic knowledge acquired beforehand. Thus, when enrolling in college, they may spend a long time getting the hang of the new curriculum and regain a basic understanding of some subjects they have already learned back in high school. Nevertheless, this problem is soluble if students practice self-study and frequently revise what they have learned. On the other hand, one advantage of this idea is that it gives students time to earn some money. As the cost for most colleges is exorbitant, students may end up incurring a huge loan and struggle financially. However, when taking a year gap, they can now join the labour force to get enough budgets to pursue higher levels of education as well as to maintain their survival. Furthermore, during their time at the workplace, students can also gain hands-on experience and enhance their skills including but not limited to negotiations, self-control, and problem-solving, which make them more desirable to the labour market after they graduate. In conclusion, whereas the drawbacks of taking a year gap are evident, the merits it bears far outweigh the demerits as it can help the student's financial condition and enhance their soft skills needed for future jobs.