Increasing numbers of students are going to university instead of working after high school. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who do this.

It is true that more students prefer enrolling in university to working after high school. There are several disadvantages to doing this; however, the advantages are far more significant. On the other hand, there can be some minor disadvantages to going to university right after high school. The first detrimental effect is that students who are vague about their dream may choose the wrong course to study. They may follow trends in the job market and choose a career which may be not suitable for them. The second drawback is that students in high school may not have enough soft skills to live a university life. Accordingly, they will have to encounter stress in the higher study environment in which they are not well prepared. Nevertheless, students who are not taking a gap year to work before the university can have major advantages. For those students who are determined to choose their future careers, taking a gap year is a waste of their time. The sooner they start studying in university the earlier they can gain real-life business experience. Thereby, these students with a bachelor's degree, young age, and experiences will stand out in the view of recruiters. Another beneficial effect worth mentioning is these students will have more time to fix their mistakes if they realise the course is inappropriate for them. Saving time from not taking a gap year and having time to pivot into another course of their preference when needed is a huge advantage these students have. In conclusion, despite the potential of disadvantages not taking a gap year, the advantages are more dominant when comparing different aspects.