Nowadays celebrities earn more money than politicians. What are the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In this day and age, celebrities’ income is dramatically higher than political professionals. This essay will analyze the possible reasons for this trend, using examples from Nike company and Oxford University to demonstrate why this is a negative trend. The major factor behind this situation is the potential business value of famous movie stars, singers and sports players is huge and such value is reflected in their wages. They could generate a large amount of money for companies whose products they endorsed through their fame. For example, Recent annual financial reports of the Nike company show that in the field of basketball-related equipment, the endorsements of famous NBA players including LeBron James and Kevin Durant have contributed over 1.5 billion dollars in revenues over the last 5 years. In contrast, politicians are most unlikely to achieve the same profitable outcome. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that famous stars can earn higher than politicians due to the disparity in contributions to businesses. That being said, this tendency seems to be detrimental to society in the long term since it could lead to changes in young people’s career choices in the future. In fact, it is not difficult to see many teenagers and nonage students have the desire to become celebrities, as such jobs are believed to be well-paid and can offer them a more decent living. For instance, an intensive study by Oxford University indicates that over 60% of British teenagers under 16 state that they wish to be a famous influencer or KOL on the internet. What is worse, this would cause a brain drain in other professional fields. It is possible that young talents who studied politics at universities turn to seek employment in the entertainment industries just because of the much higher income. Consequently, the public sector and business areas would not be able to function well owing to a lack of candidates. In conclusion, famous people can earn much higher than politicians due to the fact they can generate huge revenue for companies. However, this trend is detrimental to society as it affects young adults' career choices and leads to brain drain in other fields of work.