Children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past, which reduces their activities levels accordingly. Why is this case? What measures can you suggest to encourage higher levels of activity among children?

In this contemporary epoch, the deleterious impact of television on children's physical performance has become a controversial argument. Whilst the main reason why TV makes adolescents suffer from a sedentary lifestyle is the lack of parental supervision, I emphasize that the panacea for this is schools' intrusion to promote outdoor activities. In this essay, the leading causes, along with possible solutions will be further elaborated. To embark on, fosters play a quintessential role in preventing children from spending a large part of their day in front of television screens. This means that when young males and females find numerous and cheap forms of entertainment and there is no time management from guardians, this will waste the vast majority of their time. An eminent example of this is the overwhelming majority of Egyptian adolescents who have both parents working. Therefore, what can be said is that screen addiction as a result of working custodians hinders students from spending ample time exercising. Furthermore, to address this issue, school management should intervene to raise students' awareness about the importance of being physically active. In other words, if educational institutions introduce competitions at the end of each term, this will boost their desire to prepare for them. This can be witnessed by the international schools in Egypt which have increased the number of football, dancing and running classes. Accordingly, in a final analysis, the role of educational institutions in combating the malignant effect of TV programs cannot be neglected. In conclusion, after this essay has manifested the above-mentioned points, it can be reiterated that not only does the lack of parental supervision participate in spreading the negative effect of screen addiction, but also this affects their physical well-being. Eventually, I am a staunch believer that without extra-curricular activities, children could not have been protected from the malicious impact of televisions.