Some feel that punishment should focus more on rehabilitation instead of long prison terms. Others feel prison terms are important for social stability. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

While it is widely claimed that criminals should receive their penalties by being captured in a prison for a long period, some argue that rehabilitation is more vital than prison terms. Both points of view will be elaborated on in this essay, as well as the reason why I am convinced that a prison period and rehabilitation are equally important. To begin with, rehabilitation, in terms of providing education for all citizens at their young ages, is an effective way to curb crime rates. To clarify, children who are equipped with skills needed to earn sufficient income and instilled in caring for other human beings will be less likely to commit a crime when they grow up, as they will not usually have financial instability and conflicts with others. Take Japan, for example; as a country with the highest literacy rate in Asia, this country has been well-known for low crime rates for many decades in a row. On the other hand, some suggest that prison is a viable solution to tackle the problem. To explain it simply, long-term imprisonment can remind anyone who has the potential to commit a crime to think carefully before taking an action. For example, the Singapore government introduced the laws of punishments, such as a 10-year sentence for pickpocketing, which cannot be compromised has resulted in peace and low crime rates in the society. Personally, I firmly believe that while rehabilitation takes responsibility for long-term criminality reduction, long prison terms can effectively deal with crime rates in the short run. In other words, prison prevents criminals from committing crimes again in the near future, whereas instilling in the young generation about moral behaviors encourages a peaceful society for the next decades. In conclusion, while rehabilitation plays a vital role in the prevention of crimes committed in the future, the duration of imprisonment is crucial regarding setting an example for potential criminals not to follow illegal actions. However, I am of the opinion that rehabilitation and long-term