Do you think consumers should avoid over packaged products or it is the responsibility of the producer to avoid extra packaging? Give your views or any relevant example with your own experience.

In the recent modern world, the number of people who focus on the environmental issues has been increasing. One of the often argued issues in the context of this environmental friendly mindset is to reduce excessive merchandise packages. On this account, some people argue that over packaging is the responsibility of end users, while others believe providers of products are accountable. I believe the both share the responsibility, however, end-user mindset should be changed first to fundamentally solve this critical issue. The first reason that consumers are more accountable for this problem is that as long as purchasers require many layers of packing, the producer need to respond them in order to sell products. For example, at counters of department stores, buyers are asked if they needed an extra wrapping or extra bag. When they say yes to the question, the shop staff cannot deny and is required to add one more packaging. This is why, often times, customers have the lever to decide if over packages could be avoided or not. The second reason why end-users are accountable is that their cultural habit of giving gifts to friends and relatives. For example, in Japan, we have been having a long history of offering beautifully wrapped presents. Unlike some western cultures, wrapping papers and clothes are highly valued. Such society need to somehow shift citizens' mindset under the recent circumstances. Without that fundamental change of people, this critical issue cannot be avoided in the future. In conclusion, to reduce over packaged products, I believe consumers should start actions first, by changing their gift giving habit and stop asking extra packaging at shop counters. By doing so, product makers can reduce cost of packaging and eventually can contribute to the environmental problems.