Natural resources, such as water, forests and oil, are being used at an excessive rate. What is the main cause of this problem? How can this issue be solved?

The planet’s resources are being consumed at an alarming pace. The primary cause of this phenomenon is the wasteful lifestyle in many countries in the West and the most viable solution is to educate their young people about this issue. Countries in North America and Europe have a culture of waste. That is to say that their lifestyles involve consuming lots of natural resources for their transport, food and leisure time. This results in a huge amount of energy being consumed in the form of petrol in cars and coal and gas in electrical power stations. Many have become so used to this type of luxury that it is very difficult for them to contemplate a life without modern conveniences. For example, the most popular car in the United States is the SUV, which has the lowest fuel efficiency of any car and it is not unusual for the average home in Europe to have a TV in every room, along with many other electronic devices. A long term solution to this predicament is to educate young people about the dangers of consuming resources irresponsibly. Children in schools could be taught about how to conserve energy and recycle so that the next generation will act more responsibly. They are also likely to teach their parents about the things they learned at school and adults will also be influenced by this initiative. For example, school children in Germany were taught about the consequences of treating the planet in a reckless manner and now they have one of the highest rates of recycling and renewable energy in the world. In conclusion, the planet is being depleted at a staggering rate because American and European citizens consume more than their fair share of energy and their children must be taught that conservation is the only answer.