In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In today’s world, there are many opinions regarding working hard and being successful. It is believed that hard-working children are capable to achieve whatever they aim for. This essay will focus on both benefits and drawbacks of this idea while giving supporting examples. It is true that giving children hope by making them work might be beneficial. Firstly, they can feel more motivated this way, and their chances of success can increase. For instance, Chinese children work really hard and they are highly motivated because they have been thought that it is possible for successful students to work in their dream jobs. Also, giving this may create a hard-working society in the future. Germans were able to rise after their defeat in World War 2 because there were some individuals who worked impressively to make their country better. Nevertheless, there might be some drawbacks to this way of thinking. Success is not certain for all children, and some of them can feel like a failure in the future. This can lead to depression, so this idea would have the opposite effect. Examples of this can easily be seen in a society, where there are too many people unemployed with big dreams. Secondly, one may get overwhelmed by all this pressure about working hard and this can cause other mental problems, just as depression. For example, having thoughts about achieving something can be stressful for young generations, and one can suffer from anxiety. In conclusion, it is highly common to give pep-talk to children about trying hard and being successful. This has advantages like providing motivation and creating a hard-working society, but also there are disadvantages leading to mental health issues. The effectiveness of this idea is highly debatable and depends on one’s own culture.