Social media is becoming increasingly popular amongest all age groups. However, sharing personal information on social media websites does have risks. DO YOU THINK THAT THE ADVANTAGES OF SOCIAL MEDIA OUTWEIGH THE DISADVANTAGES?

Using social media to share lifestyles seems like a modern trend worldwide. The nation, especially the young generation, uses social media a lot. Sharing is good, but also very dangerous to expose personal pieces of information to the world. There are lots of precedents that the nation is in danger because of information leakages. In my opinion, although there are some risks, the community can gain more from it. Indeed, social media is a double-edged sword. If the community can use it in a good way, there are lots of things they can get. First, the information we can get has never been so much. People can get almost what they want from the network, particularly the different perspectives of the world. For example, it is easy for the community to gain opinions against the same topic from all kinds of countries. It helps people think broader and more comprehensively. Second, it is easier to express emotional thoughts online than in real life, especially for introverted persons. A person can share confusions and difficulties anonymously, which can lighten the pressure and stress. Finally, the internet can also help in real life. The connections between societies have declined in the last decades. Hence network can be a tool to reconnect with the public, and online chatting may turn into a face-to-face talking underline. And the authority can do more to control and monitor online behaviours. On the one hand, people will share more thoughts when they feel safe enough. In a digital world, most normal folk cannot protect themselves and their info. Hence, it is important to make sure the environment online is safe and increase the protection against vital info. On the other hand, it is also very critical for governments to let the public be aware of potential dangers. When the popular consciously surf on the internet, the probability they get in trouble will decrease. In conclusion, I think social media can bring more advantages than disadvantages to society. Using it wisely and consciously, governments should set up more rules.