Some people think international events such as the Olympic Games are important and can bring nations together. Others, however, think that they are a waste of money as the money could be spent elsewhere on more important issues. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people opine that sporting events among different nations are imperative to reduce tensions between nations while others believe that these events are a waste of energy and resources. In this essay, I would delve into both circumstances and give my opinion. To begin with, international events such as the Olympics and the world cup play a significant role in bringing nations together. During these events, people get a chance to learn and understand the culture, norms and traditions of other nations. In addition to this, sports can minimize the tension on borders. Soldiers of rival nations watch matches together and even hug and pay mutual respect to the legends of the game regardless of their affiliations. For instance, in a recent T20 world cup, the match between Pakistan and India was broadcasted live on the big screen at Wagah border, troops of both nations were present there and everyone was lauding Virat Kohli as he played a gem of a knock to win it for India. On the other hand, there is another school of thought who believe that money spent on such events should be invested in other projects. They claim that these gaming events are of no use and government should prioritize real issues. The prime example of this statement is, the leaders of the Labor party in Qatar were found furious after knowing the budget of the FIFA World cup as Qatar spent more than 200 billion dollars to host this event. They feel that this budget should have been spent on education and the healthcare system for the betterment of local people. In conclusion, I consider these events as festivals and they are a great source of joy for deprived nations such as Pakistan. International sporting events are crucial for releasing tensions among nations as they bring them closer, however, Instead of arguing over the cause of spending, we should enjoy the moments and make memories.