Some people think the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, think there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Imprisonment is one of the most common punishments for criminals who commits crimes, some people believe giving long prison sentences to prisoners may help reduce the crime rate. However, some individuals thinks that there are better alternative punishments to help decrease the crime rate rather than giving longer prison sentences. From my aspects, I believe there are better ways to treat criminals by different punishments, not by giving longer imprisonment. On one side, many people believe that giving longer imprisonment may be the key for this crime rate issues, because they thinks that this punishments may act as a deterrent to prisoners since impose longer sentences will make criminals thinks about what they did and they will feel guilty and regret about their sins. However, this method is not likely to work, in the view of the fact that some prisoners may get used to the prison lifestyle and see the prison cell as their home, so the chances of re-offend is sky-high, this lead to would be criminals continue to climb the sinfulness ladder. In my view, Im more likely to lean towards to the ideal of different ways to treat prisoners rather than increase the imprisonment time. I believe there are more alternative solutions to treat people who commits crime. To kick off, we can educate people how tough the prison life is since you are more likely to become a whole different person in order to fit the prison lifestyle. The government can also helps criminals who are in between jobs can get a stable job so they can become socialize and won’t have to live under a poor financial condition anymore. The government also needs to rework the criminals filthy and unhealthy lifestyle and treat them more politely and more educationally, with these alternative methods the punishments will become more effective and very likely to assists decrease the crime rate. In summary, there are more effective ways to treat convicts to become a better person rather keep them jailed behind those bars. Giving longer prison sentences might be an deterrent for a short period of time. In order to prepare for a long run, we should have other effective ways instead.