In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is no doubt that, advertising has become the soul of businesses. Nowadays, many businesses advertise their products as a new one in comparison to other products on the market. I believe this trend is a negative development because it may have a detrimental effect on the advertising sector. In this essay, I will discuss why this trend happens and then illustrate my opinion. To begin, companies are seeking more customers ' attention. When these companies emphasize their product as being new and different, people will immediately try to see what is new about it. Even if those customers did not find any new features or any differences from other products, the company still gets the attention it needs regarding its product. For example, when Meta Company, the owner of WhatsApp, introduced stories as a new development to its app, people tried it to see if there were any differences from other apps that had introduced the stories feature earlier, but they did not find any. Despite that, people kept using it, and as a result, WhatsApp downloads increased by almost threefold because of this strategy. Therefore, many companies use this trend to get more attention. I believe this trend will have a detrimental effect on the advertising sector. That is because people will lose faith in company advertisements. If those companies continue to manipulate customers in an effort to get more attention to their products, As a result, no one will believe any advertisement or purchase any product because of an advertisement. For instance, in 2018, a company in Sudan declared bankruptcy after people stopped buying its products, and it was called a fraudulent company because it used that new product advertisement numerous times and those products turned out to be below average. In conclusion, while companies sell their product as a new one as an attention -seeking method, customers might lose faith in advertisements and stop focusing on them.