Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced.

What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development? Over the last few years, there has been a growing concern about selling other nations’ products. It has brought not only people’s attention but also debatable issues. Some people that countries demand other nations’ products to allow the crowd to have plenty of benefits, however, drawbacks can also be caused by it. The essay will talk about the pros and cons of the phenomenon with reasons and examples. On one side of the argument, some communities are convinced that the drawbacks of providing different countries’ feed or snacks to customers considerably outweigh its advantages. The main reason for believing it is that it affects local farmers. In Switzerland, for example, the number of farmers decreased by 30 per cent since they started commerce with Japan and China in 2000. Besides, it is possible to say that global importing has environmental problems. Products have to be transported thousands of miles and huge amounts of fossil fuels are burnt to achieve this. It can cause ocean pollution. Therefore, it is no defence to say that several people will be given several disadvantages from importing foods or objects. Despite these disadvantages, it is also probable to make the opposing case. One of the most benefits is that a country might import the resources that they do not have from other countries. For instance, Korea lacks spices for producing instant foods, so they have to import spices from China. Another positive is that people often have opinions since they have more choices. As the country imports products, a nation can cook different kinds of country foods and they can wear different nation’s clothes. I believe that it is one part of sharing cultures. As a result, We should not forget the advantages of selling imported stocks. To conclude, while there are beneficial points of can use lacked resources and enjoying different kinds of cuisine and objects that are imported, some can be lost. I have discussed the pros and cons which explain my standpoints. From what has been discussed above, I may conclude that I firmly believe that there are more benefits than harms to this phenomenon.