These days, many people have their own computer and telephone, so it is quite easy for them to do their job at home. Does working at home have more advantages or more disadvantages?

Contemporary electronic devices such as computers and telephones are providing much convenience for a mass of people nowadays, which enables them to finish their work easily at home. However, there are both pros and cons of doing jobs domestically. In this essay, I will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of working at home, and I am convinced that there are certain drawbacks that working at home certainly could not overcome. First of all, it is obviously clear that working at home could substantially save your time by eliminating the time used for commuting. A good illustration of this could be the daily routines of workers in metropolis such as Beijing, who have got little money to purchase the residence near their working places and have to commute for one or two hours from their rented apartments in suburb areas. A large sum of time could be saved if the boss agrees that workers can work at home. In general, it is saving time that makes working at home so appealing and advantageous. However, certain drawbacks should be seriously considered as well. Firstly, if the job should be done at a specialised area with necessary machines or raw materials, then no way can the workers do their jobs at their homes with almost nothing. For example, if you are a worker at an automobile factory, then it is impossible to manufacture a car on your own. Besides, due to safety reasons, certain regulations should be observed and workers need to be surveilled sometimes, which is hard to conduct at home. For instance, if you are a worker in the chemical engineering industry, the chemicals you utilise might be so toxic and dangerous that slightly more contact would put your health in jeopardy, not to mention that there are so many foods and drinks that are readily contaminated at home. To sum up, lack of specialised devices and safety reasons could be two main disadvantages of working at home. To conclude, after taking everything into consideration, the drawbacks of working at home are more significant at present as far as I am concerned. But I suppose society would find its path to elevate the general working efficiency in the future, so we would not be bothered to worry about working at home or not then.