Our personalities are predetermined as a result of our genes before we are born and there is nothing that can be done to change our character traits. To what extent do you agree? What is your opinion?

Individuals go through many phases in their life as they grow up and reach a certain age. Each person is unique and has his or her own character traits which are influenced by many genetic factors as well as numerous other factors. Some people are of the view that the characters and personalities of people are solely dependent on our genes and such inherited characteristics cannot be changed. I partially disagree with this statement as to some extent genes have control over our behaviour whereas the lifestyle and the nature of upbringing a person experiences play a major role in their character development. This will be elaborated on in the forthcoming paragraphs. First and foremost, An individual experiences many good and bad things throughout his or her life. These have a huge impact on their mind and hence the person shapes his thoughts and way of living in terms of what he or she has experienced and learnt till that point. For example, Many studies have proved that A tiger taken away from its normal habitat and raised like a pet, by not surviving on rough grounds develops a sense of love and compassion for humans and does not harm them as well as other animals. This is similar to the case of humans. If an individual is raised and bought up in positive and good situations,no matter, what negative characteristics he possesses cannot be identified and utilised as he adapts to the situation which is familiar to him. Secondly, the environment and people around whom an individual grows up greatly impact his or her personality and character. For instance, children raised by strict parents find it a little hard to open up and have introverted personalities as compared to kids of broad-minded parents. However, the genes of an individual cannot be completely neglected as they play a trivial role in shaping his or her character. For example, By,birth some children may be criminal-minded and no matter what good lessons they learn they end up as criminals. Many people state that this is in their genes and cannot be changed. In conclusion, even though genes play a minor role in determining the personalities of individuals, the type of environment and the situation in which they are raised are consequential in determining the same.