Some countries invest a significant amount of money in promoting the use of bicycles. Why do you think this is the case? Does it have a positive or a negative impact on individuals and the society?

A minority of countries allocate an  adequate  amount of money to promote to use of bicycles as a precaution for environmental issues. I consider that promoting the usage of bicycles has both pros and cons, but I believe that investing money to use bicycles has a more beneficial effect on society and individuals. There are a number of countries worried about current environmental issues, as well as their inhabitants. For this reason, they try to prevent some problems by investing money to promote the use of bicycles within countries and also encourage citizens to avoid a sedentary lifestyle.It is becoming popular to utilize private cars to move from one place to another. While using cars, they spread CO2 into the air, which can pollute nearby places. The reason why authorities allocate money to use bicycles is to try to decrease the use of cars and also to lead people to a healthy lifestyle. Another reason they give too much attention to this is because the majority of people work in front of screens with less movement, which may cause several illnesses such as obesity, problems with eyesight, and chronic illnesses. Encouraging the use of bicycles may open new doors to a healthy and environmentally friendly lifestyle. Everything has downsides and upsides; investing money in bikes has some problems too. First of all, the government has to provide some local inhabitants with bicycles who do not own their bikes and provide them with an adequate amount of money. Another problem is that some people may use bicycles in the wrong way. For example, in a 1937 experiment carried out in Denmark by scientists to provide public areas with bikes, people may have used them without paying money, and at the time some people stole those bikes; others were badly damaged. When it comes to the positive sides of using bikes instead of transportation, people may adapt to a healthy lifestyle, and it can be a good way to help save the environment for the next generation. Another benefit of this effort is that the government can solve some problems related to traffic problems and car accidents, which might cost a large budget, and they can also tackle natural resources. In conclusion, allocating money to promote the use of bikes brings benefits to both sides, even though it has minor downsides. In my opinion, this investment can prevent upcoming and current problems, which I have mentioned above.