Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Write on both views and give your opinion.

There are conflicting views regarding whether history has made contributions to modern society or not. Both sides of the argument will be analysed in this essay. Personally, I advocate that history is rather useful as it helps us to gain an in-depth understanding of humanity and the development of our race. On the one hand, some believe historical facts have no value to us nowadays many provide the following reason. As today's society is more complicated than that in ancient times, many historical experiences and solutions are unlikely to be effective in the modern world. For instance, 1000 years ago in the Tang dynasty, it was widely believed increasing crop yield was the most effective method to boost the economy, as cereals were the most popular goods in the country. To today’s china, however, owing to the development in the internet and transport, improving international trade is what holds the key to the national economy rather than merely improving inner agriculture. On the other hand, advocates regard history as the main approach to learning more knowledge about human beings and giving advice at present time. Discovering historical facts help us to gain more insight into how humanity can affect national progress. For instance, Studies by Chinese history researchers indicate the primary reason why the Ming dynasty collapsed was the greedy and selfish qualities that loyal families and governmental officers had. Ordinary people were exploited by them, which resulted in the rebellion in 1765. In addition, history can also help us understand how can we move forward as a race. Historical stories have recorded every time scientific breakthrough or social development over the last thousands of years, and researching these facts might help inspire today's people to find a way to make progress again in the future. In conclusion, although not all historical experience would be useful in tackling problems nowadays, I would still believe historical lessons can offer more than just stories and facts but also knowledge about human races and how human society work. Therefore, it can be predicted that historical research will increasingly grow in importance.