Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold divided opinions about how a country’s development is measured. While numerous governments regard economic growth as the most essential target for them to achieve. I agree with those who argue that consideration of other aspects of progress is just as significant for a nation. The economic expansion of a country leads to higher living standards and thus to the greater well-being of its citizens. Initially, a healthy economy results in job creation and a reduction in poverty levels for the population. For instance, some newly developed Asian countries such as Singapore that have gained economic power were able to offer job security and better income. Subsequently, the employees who are satisfied with their career pay more attention to their health, education, and entertainment activities. Similarly, through business ventures and job opportunities, the government can accumulate tax to raise revenue for the public services and the community needs such as education, health, and infrastructure. On the other hand, I would argue that other various forms of progress are no less critical than economic factors mentioned above. In particular, an upgraded education system and other disciplines are fundamental instruments for the substantial development of a country. If a government attaches great importance to its education scheme such as offering free schooling, it can produce a skilled workforce, therefore, leading to major economic returns. Another key progress that a nation should strive to achieve is advancement in fields like science. That is to say, having more innovations and breakthroughs in scientific fields such as medicine could allow a country to improve its public health or increase the life expectancy of the whole population. Furthermore, given the scientific growth, governments could stand a good chance of tackling many environment-related issues. In some European countries, for instance, various scientific applications have succeeded in alleviating climate change. In conclusion, the economy is a key marker of a country’s success, However, the other types of progress namely, social, educational, environmental, and health should be viewed as equal because improvement does not only result from improving one aspect of a nation; rather it requires the development of various aspects of life.