The arts, including art, music and theatre are considered to be important in society. Do you think the arts still have a place amongst our modern lifestyles? Should the arts be included in the school curriculum?

The view that the arts, such as music and theatre, are vital to society, is held by the majority of the population. I think crafts cannot be excluded from our modern lifestyles since they act as the largest source of entertainment. I also believe that it is a good idea to include the arts in the school curriculum because this is a great way to help students discover their artistic passion. Firstly, painting, music, theatre, and so on make up the majority of the things we consume for entertainment. For example, statistics recently made public by the government of the United States show that the majority of Americans spend most of their time they spend for relaxation watching movies and TV series. On the other hand, sports is the leisure activity that Americans spend the least time on. Thus, it is undeniable that the arts still play a major role in our modern way of life. Secondly, including fine art in the curriculum greatly helps students realise their passion for it. For instance, a study conducted by the US Department of Education demonstrates a correlation between an introduction of fine art into the syllabus and an increase in the number of college students majoring in subjects related to it. Therefore, it is beneficial for crafts to be part of the school syllabus. In conclusion, the breakdown of what we consume for pleasure has proven that fine art still has a place in our modern lifestyles. In addition, for pupils to discover their artistic talents, it should be made sure that the school curriculum is designed to promote such behaviour.