University students should pay all the costs of their studies because university education benefits individuals more than it benefits society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Nowadays, an increasing number of young people pursue further education in universities. Some people are critical that whether university students should pay all the tuition fees because they benefit directly from their universities. Personally, I disagree with this statement. It is undeniable that university students can benefits directly and significantly from their universities, as they are able to access to a variety of high-end academic courses so that they can sharpen their professional knowledge in a certain field and develop innovative thinking. However, it doesn’t mean that university education benefits individuals more than it benefits society as a whole. From the perspective of society, what university students learn in the universities will benefit to society as a whole. Their professional knowledge and innovative thinking will be applied to certain industry such as pharmacy and engineering, which will be converted into productivity and innovative technology eventually in the society as a whole. It is certainly would be unfair to university students to pay all the costs of their studies simply because there are a number of factors affecting this issue, including their family financial status and academic performance. The rising cost of education and living adds a considerable burden to those low-income families. In order to ensure equal opportunities for all students, university and government should provide financial support to students in need such as need-based financial aid. Apart from that, those who study hard and achieve excellent academic performance can also apply for merit-based financial aid such as scholarship. In conclusion, it is unreasonable to ask university students to shoulder all the cost of their study because what they have learned in university will be given back to society as a whole and other realistic factors including students ’ financial status and academic performance need to be taken into account as well.