Write about the following topic: Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The last century saw a creative explosion of human innovation; cars, electricity, telephones and so many more creations that have become a crucial part of contemporary human life. Arguably, the most significant of them is the computer, which I am in agreement with. In this essay, I will explain why the computer is the most important invention of them all. Firstly, the computer greatly increases work efficiency in almost every field, especially in administrative office work. Most notably, the introduction of the computer into the workforce has rendered the typewriter obsolete, streamlining the workflow staff. For example, instead of having to re-type entire documents to amend a tiny error, users can go back and edit the mistake in the word processing software, saving time and paper resources. Second, computers have made interactions between people rapid and easy. Through voice calls or text messaging, modern mobile phones, which are classified as computers, enable parties to be in contact even if they are not in the same room or building. Additionally, through the Internet and messaging apps, trans-continental communication has become considerably cheaper, allowing families to talk instantly, despite being thousands of miles apart. Lastly, the computer has enforced universal equality because a country's borders no longer hinder the spread of information. Through the Internet and a computer, communities still living in remote areas of the world have the same amount of access to information as a citizen of a developed city. Consequently, this boosts education accessibility and increases opportunities for rural town folk. In conclusion, I completely agree that the computer is the most crucial invention of the past century. Not only does the computer save time, but it also saves the Earth's precious resources. Most importantly, it connects and reconnects communities that have been separated by large distances, and promotes unity across borders.