The best way for the government to solve traffic congestion is to provide free public transport 24 hours a day and 7 days a week. Do you agree or disagree?

There has been a lot of discussion revolving around whether the state should provide free transport to the public, in order to reduce congestion on roads. This essay is going to discuss why it is the need of the hour that traffic chaos should be handled by the authorities before the situation gets difficult for the common masses. Early morning jams have become the everyday norm with traffic picking its peak during school and office hours thus making it impossible to reach our destinations on time. This is mainly because cities have become crowded due to people moving to urban areas in search of a better life. The majority of them have occupied suburbs which makes it difficult to commute from one place to another. For example,in metropolitans like Mumbai and Delhi it can take two to three hours at times to cover short distances. In addition, emergency services suffer the brunt of this, as patients requiring immediate care may not be able to reach the hospital on time. There are many ways by which the government can ensure a solution to this never-ending chaos on roads. One way is by providing free public services 24/7 and 7 days a week. As a result people will prefer to keep their cars at home and by making use of the privilege of free transportation we will finally be able to see fewer traffic jams and less pollution. Free transport will lure people into getting rid of private vehicles as they won't have to spend money on fuel,which is already a problem due to the never-ending escalation of prices. The authorities can also introduce metros and add more buses to accommodate public needs. Metro's being effective means of commute already by covering the longest distances in the shortest time, furthermore economical as well. In conclusion,I believe that if the state authorities take the stand on providing free transport to the public through trains,buses and metros it will be beneficial to both people and them in the long term, as people will prefer these modes of transportation and government will have less to worry about in terms of traffic management and pollution caused by the same.