Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational; otherwise, they are a complete waste of time. Do you agree or disagree?

Education plays an important role in children's lives. However, some believe that all children's leisure activities must be educational, otherwise, they are a complete waste of time. This is a controversial issue, although I tend to disagree with the expressed opinion for various reasons. To begin with, many parents feel like they have the complete right to only provide academic chances for their children, as they all hope their little ones will be a success in their future life by, for instance, acquiring the highest education and getting applied to a prestigious, well-paid job. This idea is mainly rooted in the fact that the work atmosphere is becoming more and more competitive, and mostly the ones who are more knowledgeable get more successful. Nevertheless, many parents don't consider the fact that academic achievement is not all that their children need. For instance, children need to acquire physical coordination by playing different sports; they learn social skills by playing make-believe games; moreover, they can become emotionally mature by increasing their interactions with their peers. Therefore, from my perspective, a child needs so much more learning opportunities rather than mere education. In conclusion, from my point of view, although academic achievement is necessary for the present living conditions, the importance of pastime activities in the development of children shouldn't be underestimated, as they help them acquire different physical, emotional, and social skills.