*Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. *Why might this be the case? *What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

In the recent modern world, the number of young people who choose to start their own businesses has been rapidly increasing. There are a couple of important reasons for this phenomenon, such as the advent of the internet and subsequent society structure changes. However, there are some critical drawbacks of self-employment. I would like to list them in this essay. The most significant reason for the above mentioned trend is the introduction of the internet and the digitizaiton of society. Owning to the availabity of digital insfrastructure at a reasonable cost, even new graduates from universities without much investment money can relatively easily start their own business. For example, a small venture company can compete with national brand if their products had a significant competitive edge in the digital market environment. The second reason is the volatility of the society as a whole. For instance, under the huge influence of the recent pandemic and the war, the market is becoming more and more unstable and many young people are struggling to find good careers at large organizations. Some of these people have decided to start their own buisnesses instead of depending on established companies. These are a few most prominent reasons. However, becoming self-employers has its critical risks. First of all, only a small percentage of venture businesses survives more than three years. Once failed, the owners of the business not only loose income but owe a significant amount of investment borrowed from banks and stakeholders. Moreover, even if the business continued, small venture captal owners are constantly under the pressure to continuously grow business. For instance, in Japan, 95% of corporations are categorized as small business and their owners tend to work seven days a week, under the huge pressure and it is not good for their health. In conclusion, due to the change of societal structure changes, the number of self-emplyeed people are continuously increasing. On the other hand, a huge growth of the venture business is a rarity and a majority of venture company owners are facing significant risks and pressures.