The increase in the population of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

In this day and age, consumerism plays an essential role in society. Therefore, there is a surge in goods manufacturing over a few decades, resulting in damaging effects on nature. This essay will elaborate on the reasons for the growth of consumer products, as well as suggest some solutions to cope with this pressing issue. To begin with, there are many reasons associated with the increase in the number of products. Firstly, the main factor is the effects of advertisements encouraging people to keep up with the latest trends. The fashion industry is a prime example of this idea, as fashion companies send their brand-new clothes and bags for free to celebrities to wear on social media every quarter of the year, there are more and more people wanting to buy new clothes to be in fashioned, leading to a surge in the manufacturing number of clothes. Secondly, technology is developed fastly leading to a throw-away culture. Take Apple, a well-known tech company, for example; they launch new products with new innovations every year. This can encourage people to buy their new products rather than trying to repair their current gadgets when they are broken. However, many methods can be done to deal with this damaging trend. The most important way is to instil in citizens environmental issues. Moreover, authorities should introduce laws to reduce advanced technology manufacturing. For instance, forcing people to use mobile phones for at least 3 years instead of changing to a new one annually seem to effectively reduce the number of annual productions. In conclusion, although advertisements and advanced technology contribute to a growth in consumer goods, I am of the opinion that raising awareness of environmental problems and mandating laws related to the production of digital gadgets are viable answers to protect our global environment.