Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

These days, most individuals do not take their health seriously. They often consume products which have high levels of sugar without understanding the bad impact it can cause. I completely agree with the idea that the prices of these products should be increased in order to prevent folks from buying them. Firstly, people should be aware of the fact that consuming sugary things can have a major impact on their bodies. Since these items contain a great number of carbohydrates, eating these on daily basis can cause severe illnesses like blood pressure, heart attack and diabetes at a young age. For instance, most hospitals report that people who eat food containing high amounts of carbohydrates frequently are diagnosed with diabetes at an early age than usual. Moreover, by increasing the price of these goods, the adverse effect of sugary items on a person's health can be minimized. Secondly, the increase in the number of goods would compel one to change their habits. In most cases, when a person is not able to afford an item he is addicted to, he either looks for alternatives or changes his habit. For example, in the past, it has been witnessed that increasing the cost of tobacco prevented folks from purchasing it. As a result, a drastic downfall in the consumption of tobacco was seen and most individuals even quit smoking even though they were addicted. To put it in a nutshell, it is true that extremely sweet products are having negative effects on human organs. However, in my opinion, it is a good way to increase the prices of these items so the health of the people will not deteriorate.