People in the current generations are not fit and active. What are the problems. What can be done to encourage people to participate in sports activities.

In today's world, the population in many countries is experiencing a decline in health and fitness levels. Nowadays people are generally leading a sedentary lifestyle. This essay will explore the problems leading to this scenario and the possible solutions to resolve them. First and foremost, the advancement in science and technology has contributed to the inactive lifestyle. Technological innovations such as cars and elevators are the major contributors to people being not fit and active. To give an illustration, people tend to travel by cars for shopping instead of walking as it is more convenient and saves a huge amount of time. Also, rather than climbing stairs to reach the upper floors, people are more likely to take elevators. This dependence on modern inventions has ultimately resulted in a sedentary lifestyle. Another problem is that working adults generally have a hectic schedule and they can hardly allocate time to carry out physical activities; hence, people in the current generation are not fit and active. Nonetheless, a practical solution to these problems is the utilisation of national campaigns. The government should launch campaigns through either street outreach or social media to raise awareness about the importance of exercise. For instance, these educational campaigns should highlight the negative impacts of obesity and laziness on our health. The authorities can also invite celebrities and influencers to spread the benefits of participating in sports activities. Moreover, the government should build more sports facilities so that they are easily accessible to the public. This would definitely encourage and motivate the public to perform daily exercises. To draw a conclusion, although people are generally leading a sedentary lifestyle due to the ease and convenience of modern inventions, the government can play a pivotal role in encouraging citizens to participate in sports activities through national campaigns.