Food travels thousands of miles from the local farmer to consumers. Some people believe we should buy food from the local farmer to protect the environment and support local businesses. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the present day, consumers are being offered a variety of product choices from all over the world. Some have argued that the public should buy local products instead of imported ones to protect the environment and support local businesses. In my opinion, I agree with this viewpoint and this essay will demonstrate why its proponents are correct. First and foremost, in today's world, due to the advancement in air transport, the public is able to purchase imported food easily. For instance, the British are now able to try tropical fruits such as mangos and durians, which normally cannot grow in a four-season climate. This enables consumers to try new and exotic products as a result of globalisation. Also, sometimes imported foods are cheaper than local goods, which is beneficial for consumers as they are able to select and purchase products at a lower price. Nonetheless, I believe that people should buy food from local farmers due to several reasons. Firstly, a huge amount of fossil fuels is required to import food from other countries as it travels thousands of miles. The combustion of fossil fuels releases greenhouse gases such as carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide, which trap heat in the atmosphere, causing global warming to occur. Hence, we should support local goods. In addition, purchasing local products can help to provide job opportunities to the local farmers and increase the employment rate. Eventually, this can boost the economic growth of a country and improve the living standards of the locals. To draw a conclusion, although consumers are able to try a wide range of imported products due to modern inventions, I believe that we should support local businesses due to the positive impacts they have on the environment and the economy.