In some parts of the world people try to find out one's own family history. Why do people do this? Do you think it is a positive or negative? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Finding out the history of their own family is a kind of habit for people in different regions of the world. This may be due to various reasons and it is difficult to generalise. In my,opinion this is not a good practice which may lead to a negative impact. Explorations of one's own family history are increased nowadays, because of a variety of motives. Firstly, the hobby to find out about ancestor's life is a passion for some people. Moreover, they are curious to know about previous stories like reading a fictional storybook. Whereas some of them involved in this type of Investigation is to learn the history of some diseases such as haemophilia, or as a part of some research studies and to discover missing families. For example; In Kerala one person found his parents after 25 years, and the family thought that he died. In this way, people are interested in working out the area of family history. The process of following the history of a family is not only time-consuming but also effortful. Primarily, many of them are involved in searching for family history due to useful reasons, while others take it as a leisure activity. This kind of people will ruin their valuable time to detect their forefathers instead of using their time to plan and work for the future life. For instance; the past is the past, and no one can change it, whereas, we can change the future with consistent work. So, running backwards is a snipe hunt. In conclusion, some people would like to chase the history of their own family with or without a valid reason. In my,opinion if a person uses his time effectively, he can change his future life.