In some societies, the number of crime committed by teenager is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crime should receive adult punishment. To what extend do you agree?

Increasing number of criminal offenses that are carried by teenagers are being reported in certain communities. It is believed by some poeple that the punishment for a crime should be given irrespective of the age which dictates giving adult punishment to the teenagers as well. In my opinion, I completely disagree with the idea of giving adult punishment to the teenagers given the trend of increasing juvenile cases in some localities. In my belief, it is not justified to generalize any observation by just taking a few datapoints which is the case here that shows higher number of crimes committed by teenagers in some communities. Various factors associated with a society such as, education index, diversity, laws pertaining to controlled substances and drugs, average per capita income, etc. that can also be attributed to the increased number of teenagers commiting crime. For example, in a community with very low per capital income and education index, combined with lineant linear laws for drugs, it would be likely for teenagers to be forced by dealers to take part in criminal activities such as illegal distribution of drugs. It is also important to take into account the severity of adult punishments which can negatively impact the mental and physical health of teenagers while also affecting their career prospects including employability in the long run. A young mind can still be instilled with right morals and values that will guide them in the future. This can be exemplified by number of cases where penalties such as serving a period at a social work organization, mental rehabilitation, and psychotherapy sessions have proven to be effective for teenagers. In conclusion, I strongly believe that the idea of giving adult penalties to teenagers could have a huge negative effect which can worsen the juvenile crime statistics of certain societies. It is extremely important to understand the mindset and reasoning of a teenager who committed a crime to be able to prescribe a method of penalty in proportion to the crime. This can be one of the best sustainable approach which gives a chance to the future generations while also controlling the situation of increased number of teenagers who carry out a criminal activity in certain localities.