Some people think that job satisfaction is more important than job security. Others think that people cannot expect to enjoy a job and that having a permanent job is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are some conflicting views regarding whether job satisfaction or job security is more important than one other. This essay believes such judgment is merely just a personal preference and will analyze both sides before deducting my personal opinion. On the one hand, some advocates regard job satisfaction as the first consideration when hunting for a job, compared to job security. Indeed, although a constant income cannot be guaranteed, there are quite some people preferring a more challenging and risky career rather than landing a boring job. For instance, some extreme sports players might not be able to earn a monthly and fixed amount of wages as the frequency and prizes of sports competitions are not stable. Still, the excitement and challenges that such careers can offer can not only allow these professionals do not get bore, but also enable them boost their sense of fulfilment. Therefore, job satisfaction is rather important when men and female put more emphasis on the demand for finding a joyment or meeting personal achievement. On the other hand, some risk haters do believe job security is the top priority since they do not want their lives to be affected by unstable income. Generally speaking, stable jobs usually refer to a job type which can almost provide a constant salary despite of most external risks. For example, the salaries of most servants who worked in the domestic government and public sector, one of the most stable jobs in China, are not being affected or reduced by financial crisis in 2008 at all. Whereas many people who started businesses by themselves or worked for private companies are sacked or even got into heavy debt. Thus, it is possible to state beyond doubt that a secured job can provide us with a sense of security and many people value that. To conclude, different choices in covering the basic needs or achieving personal fulfilment differ in individual's values in aspects. Therefore, I believe this is a personal choice.